Challenges of TEPCO

  1. Energy & Resources

TEPCO owns 17 nuclear reactors, 10 in Fukushima Prefecture and 7 in Niigata Kashiwazaki Kariwa, and the total capacity is 17,308 MW. Nuclear power is considered as a base load energy and it accounts for approximately 40% of TEPCO's total electricity output.

For in - depth data, please click here (PDF/35.4KB)

Fukushima Daiichi

Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Station, in Fukushima Prefecture, began operation in 1971 and has six nuclear reactors, the capacity of which is 4,696 MW. The power station is located approximately 250 km (155 miles) north of Tokyo in the towns of Futaba and Ohkuma, facing the Pacific Ocean. The site of the station covers about 3.5 million square meters (865 acres) and the plants are built on solid bedrock.

Fukushima Daini

Fukushima Daini Nuclear Power Station, in the Hamadori area on the Pacific Coast of Fukushima Prefecture, began operation in 1982 and has a total capacity of 4,400 MW. The site covers approximately 155 hectares and has its own private harbor used as the source of sea water to cool the power plant and the dock for shipping out spent fuel and taking in fuel oil.

Kashiwazaki Kariwa

Kashiwazaki Kariwa Nuclear Power Station began operation in September 1985. In 1997 all 7 units were in commercial operation with a total capacity of 8,212 MW, and as a result, this power station has become the largest nuclear power station in capacity in the world. It is located in Niigata Prefecture, approximately 220 km northwest of Tokyo along the coast of the Sea of Japan. The site covers an area of about 4.2 square-kilometers including land in Kashiwazaki City and Kariwa village.

Acrobat® Reader In Order to view the PDF documents, you will need a software product called Adobe® Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this software product for free from Adobe’s Web site by clicking the left button: